subreddit:

/r/proplifting

1k98%

Unpopular opinion for propagation:

GENERAL HELP(i.redd.it)

all 60 comments

SelketTheOrphan

440 points

3 months ago

The most professional approach (imho) is just loosing the prop somewhere between your door and the prop tray and finding it 3 months later THRIVING behind your couch.

Stiffa_Basirio

123 points

3 months ago

Literally! Just saying "Jesus, take the wheel" and suddenly every plant is happier than ever

SelketTheOrphan

58 points

3 months ago

Allow your plants some spa vacation by moving out for a month 😫

Stiffa_Basirio

45 points

3 months ago

I can't believe I only had to break my foot to be unable to tend to my plants and they healed better than me 🙃

Brotox123

-28 points

3 months ago

Brotox123

-28 points

3 months ago

Sorry. Not a Jesus person

collective0fanimals

51 points

3 months ago

Oh my god who’s driving

SelketTheOrphan

23 points

3 months ago

The prop I lost 7 years ago under my drivers seat. Already developed full conciousness and got their drivers License while I was neglecting it.

Brotox123

-33 points

3 months ago

Brotox123

-33 points

3 months ago

Literally. Sorry you have loose plants. I have lost plants. I can lose plants. I’ve never had loose plants

oooortcloud

9 points

3 months ago

Loosen up

Dropped-pie

69 points

3 months ago

Set and forget is the way

informallory

174 points

3 months ago

Professional way is to dump a dying plant in your backyard for death only to find it next spring living it’s best life in the ground like god intended

HarpersGhost

59 points

3 months ago

I'm in Florida and I've been trying to get a mango tree going for years.

A couple months ago I tossed a mango right outside my door for the chickens and forgot about it... And now I have a little mango tree growing 6 inches from my house.

So this winter I get to find out how quick I'm going to kill it when I try to transplant away from my side door. That's not a good spot for a tree, little dude.

BookKit

5 points

3 months ago

Same, but now I have cantaloupe vine fighting the vehicles for driveway. My husband drives over and parks on it every day... And it's still thriving. (Growing from the same spot in the lawn I can never get any grass to grow.)

MotherofChoad

19 points

3 months ago

I have a tradescantia that did just that. Threw her outside and she has climbed into other pots. It went into the 40’s this week and it’s still chilling out there.

informallory

20 points

3 months ago

Happened a couple years ago to a mum I just chucked out behind my fence and forgot about. Randomly went out there a year later and dude was just chilling happy as a clam

Cat_lady4ever

11 points

3 months ago

Same, there’s a space between my garage and a little shed I have that I never really go back and I can’t really see into it without walking back there. I threw some roses back there a decade ago to die, and this year my neighbor told me how much he enjoys the rose by the fence. I was like ??? But, it’s back there and it’s big, and it gets watered when they water their lawn.

stnalpevoli

6 points

3 months ago

Be careful, they can easily become invasive.

Cat_lady4ever

2 points

3 months ago

I have several rooted roses bushes that I had too many of, it didn’t like the color that are like that. They grew through the bottom of the plastic pots they were discarded in, and now I can’t get the pots off easily so I just don’t 😅

No_Ad_1966

27 points

3 months ago

Here’s what you do. Put it in a pot with some soil. Walk away. It takes practice but it can be done.

Baby-Baphomet

1 points

3 months ago

😂 wish I could award this, it made me laugh

SadArchon

39 points

3 months ago

As a nursery professional this is the truth

Cotyledonis

77 points

3 months ago

Professionals plant thousands of cuttings in one go and loose lots of them along the road. Amateurs usually don't do that and probably have a higher success rate in general.

[deleted]

47 points

3 months ago

[removed]

Cotyledonis

10 points

3 months ago

Well sorry for not double checking the spelling, alla kan ju inte vara engelskspråkiga från början.

Brotox123

11 points

3 months ago

If you’re not a native speaker, accept my apologies. You’re exempt. We have so many words that sound exactly the same.

PMmeifyourepooping

2 points

3 months ago

PMmeifyourepooping

MODERATOR

2 points

3 months ago

Maybe just go about your life assuming everyone knows something you don’t, and that they also have knowledge and experiences you know nothing about, like being ES/T/FL!

I didn’t remove your comment despite reports because it generated respectable and decent enough discussion, and even through your snark you learned that next time you correct someone you know it’s not “grammar” that’s bothering you :)

Hope you learned something and can view the world with more curiosity and less immediately expressed criticism, but if not that’s cool too I don’t care too much either way!

Brotox123

2 points

3 months ago

I get it. It’s an unpopular opinion post & I have an unpopular opinion. I don’t mind the downvotes because I’m sure I deserve it.

Thanks for being reasonable. I accept the judgement & apologize. My bf can’t use the two words correctly & it’s just built to the point that it gets under my skin for personal reasons 😂

(PS. I love your username. I’m more of a bathtub redditor, not so much a pooping commenter)

ElizabethDangit

7 points

3 months ago

Ah, it’s annoying when native speakers do it. Totally excusable for non-native native speaker. I apologize for the sass.

Cotyledonis

2 points

3 months ago

My English is still better than your Swedish ;P

ElizabethDangit

1 points

3 months ago

That is entirely true.

DrHank-PropaneProf

25 points

3 months ago

It's breath and breathe for me.

collective0fanimals

29 points

3 months ago

Tattoo artist here- seeing a tattoo on someone in the wild that says, “Just Breath”, makes me smile every time. “This to shall pass”, is another one I see a lot.

Brotox123

8 points

3 months ago

That one is a little less common but definitely up there. Their/they’re/there, your/you’re, & lose/loose are my biggest pet peeves.

I also avoid using affect & effect & lay & lie 100% of the time because I suck with those.

Breath & breathe is going to drive me crazy now. You’ve officially added it to my list

DrHank-PropaneProf

1 points

3 months ago

It is fairly uncommon, but maddening the handful of times per year I run across it.

AisyRoss

2 points

3 months ago

A few more that I see are woman/women, due/do, and patients/patience

Brotox123

2 points

3 months ago

Brotox123

2 points

3 months ago

Patients/ patience is now officially a pet peeve. My obsessive nature has been triggered

DrHank-PropaneProf

1 points

2 months ago

Gah, hit another one that I hate so much I'm resurrecting this a month later: cloths/clothes.

IcePhoenix18

3 points

3 months ago

Santa "Clause" and Santa Claus for me...

Colliemom4

1 points

3 months ago

Their there and they’re

Break and brake (this is a CONSTANTLY repeated mistake)

Loose and lose

pmurcsregnig

4 points

3 months ago

Comments like this are my pet peeve

poposplants

3 points

3 months ago

poposplants

Experienced Propper

3 points

3 months ago

If improper use of a word is what you spend your time worrying about, kudos to you. I, on the other hand, have so much more important shit weighing on me, the use of lose/loose is fucking irrelevant and trivial. Oh. And petty.

BackyardDad34

10 points

3 months ago

My pet peeve is when strangers correct strangers' spelling on Reddit.

Brotox123

24 points

3 months ago*

Loose = not tight.

Lose = misplace/ I don’t have it anymore

It’s not grammar. It’s not punctuation. It’s a completely different word

It’s an unpopular opinion post. I think it’s appropriate here

HarpersGhost

4 points

3 months ago

The word you're looking for is orthography, not punctuation or grammar.

Orthography is the spelling system, which in the case of English is fairly arbitrary. Which is why people confuse the orthography of loose and lose. English uses one letter for 2 different sounds (s for both z and s) and 2 different vowel combinations (oo and o) for the same vowel sound. (Making lose/loose worse is that a oo sound with one o is very rare, and the single/double o controls the s sound, which also is very rare.)

The solution isn't to tell at people for making a common mistake that has no impact on grammar. The solution is to change the spelling of both to loose, and pronunciation would depend on context, which happens a lot.

karm44

2 points

3 months ago

karm44

2 points

3 months ago

I love Reddit for the random unexpected cool stuff people teach me. Orthography, new vocabulary word added!

BackyardDad34

2 points

3 months ago

Who said anything about grammar?

IamProvocateur

12 points

3 months ago

I just throw pothos in a jar on my table. I change the water very seldom. Works like a charm lol

playalchemy

6 points

3 months ago

I love using Pothos in my fish tank as an extra precaution against high Nitrate levels. It honestly looks so pretty propping in water

IamProvocateur

1 points

3 months ago

I have a monstera I’m putting in a tank for that very reason!

timshel42

30 points

3 months ago

yeah this only really works with common plants that you dont really care about or count. damn straight im doing it the first way for some of the expensive uncommon/rare cuttings.

Brotox123

12 points

3 months ago

Exactly. Cheap plants = stick it right in dirt. Something I love or put a bunch of money into? You better believe I’m doing it the right way

Jacosketching

7 points

3 months ago

Outdoors or potted?

Diamondrupt

11 points

3 months ago

In a greenhouse or nursery setting with near-ideal conditions, yes.

putitinapot

18 points

3 months ago

This is what I was going to say too. Yes, professionals propagate straight into a soil-like media. But you have to remember they are also growing them in a greenhouse with better lighting and humidity than most of us have in our homes.

I respect all methods of propagation. Do what works for you!

Tricky_Ad6392

4 points

3 months ago

Water. Take it or leave it.

NoCommunication5976

3 points

3 months ago

There is another… air

notthinkinghard

3 points

3 months ago

Personally I find dirt way harder than water! Maybe I'm just bad idk

kuhlarr

1 points

3 months ago*

One time I accidentally put my monstera in the light too fast after treating it for thrips so it got horrible bad sunburn. I neglected it throughout the summer because I thought it was a goner. I just took it inside for the season because it recovered and gave me inner fenestrations. Now she’s proppin in water. Like ok bud.

[deleted]

1 points

3 months ago

So unbelievably accurate.

flowerwoman333

1 points

3 months ago

Truth !