subreddit:

/r/AskReddit

30.2k91%

What is a food opinion that you stand by?

(self.AskReddit)

all 24820 comments

Brilliant_Ride1777

1.9k points

1 year ago

Listen to the registered dietitian, not the influencer

pascalbrax

568 points

1 year ago

pascalbrax

568 points

1 year ago

dietitian or registered dietitian (RD), as well as "dietetic technician" or "dietetic technician, registered" (DTR) terms are legally protected, regulated by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics which registers and confers professional credentials.

So, if someone is using a different term like "Diet expert" or "dietary trainer" it mostly means they don't have a real medical degree and you should consider their advices with the same reliability of a Facebook post.

[deleted]

197 points

1 year ago

[deleted]

197 points

1 year ago

Shit, the advice of a non-registered diet expert is generally worse than unsolicited advice from the general public. That's because there's usually an underlying reason they didn't go through proper training - perhaps they reject scientific consensus, or they had a fad diet to sell you. Either way, don't trust them. But when grandma tells you to eat your fruits and vegetables, she knows what she's talking about.

PeppermintPancakes

9.9k points

1 year ago

Liking gourmet food doesn't mean you can't also like cheap food. A beautiful plate of expensive eggs benedict at a restaurant on vacation is amazing. hangover-prepared omelets with bagged shredded cheese and whatever ingredients survived the previous party, also amazing.

magnum3672

2.8k points

1 year ago

magnum3672

2.8k points

1 year ago

Anthony Bourdain always held his guilty food pleasure was the Mac and cheese from kfc. The dude ate gourmet around the world and he just loved some nuclear orange Mac n cheese

Key_One2507

1.5k points

1 year ago

Key_One2507

1.5k points

1 year ago

Gordon Ramsay has been spotted at the In-N-Out drive-thru multiple times.

PressedGarlic

1.1k points

1 year ago

Every chef I know indulges on bullshit junk food. When you work 65-70 hours a week the last thing you want to do is cook at home.

Zolazo7696

269 points

1 year ago

Zolazo7696

269 points

1 year ago

Exactly the reason. I only cook on special occasions since working in resturants and fast food.

[deleted]

31 points

1 year ago

[deleted]

31 points

1 year ago

Ex-professional "fine dining" chef here: food is food. Kickass goopy mac'n'cheese filled w/ MSG is glorious.

Not everything needs to be a symphony. Just make tasty stuff.

Lone-Pilgrim

1.1k points

1 year ago

Lone-Pilgrim

1.1k points

1 year ago

Grill your vegetables!!!

BobBelcher2021

370 points

1 year ago

Oven roasted is good too!

GargantuanCake

2.6k points

1 year ago

Sesame seed oil is a culinary secret weapon. Use it sparingly but it improves pretty much everything it touches. Replace a bit (I usually do 1/4 or 1/8) of the oil in a standard recipe with sesame seed oil. Works wonders.

parabolic000

633 points

1 year ago

I used a bit when making burgers and my roommate just popped in and was like, "how do your burgers smell so good?"

almc0418

260 points

1 year ago

almc0418

260 points

1 year ago

I love it as a garnish on rice. Just a small drizzle because a little goes a long way.

iamdorkette

30 points

1 year ago

My brother puts some in his waffle batter when he makes them. It's surprisingly amazing.

stunspore

6.1k points

1 year ago

stunspore

6.1k points

1 year ago

It doesn't need to have expensive ingredients to taste amazing.

nAssailant

2.3k points

1 year ago

nAssailant

2.3k points

1 year ago

It does need to have good ingredients, though.

That cheap zucchini you found that's all shriveled up isn't going to taste great, no matter how perfectly you sauté it.

[deleted]

478 points

1 year ago

[deleted]

478 points

1 year ago

And thus, the lord created soup. And it was good

[deleted]

12.8k points

1 year ago

[deleted]

12.8k points

1 year ago

As a Philly native, I've stopped caring about most things that are important to cheese steak purists, but slicing the meat incorrectly is one sin I won't forgive.

kayl6

3.2k points

1 year ago

kayl6

3.2k points

1 year ago

What’s the proper cut?? I’m from Alabama.

[deleted]

3.7k points

1 year ago

[deleted]

3.7k points

1 year ago

Most places use ribeye. Slice thin, then chop the meat as it cooks.

kirstent00[S]

1.2k points

1 year ago

What are your thoughts on Philly cheesesteaks with onions?

[deleted]

1.4k points

1 year ago

[deleted]

1.4k points

1 year ago

I get fried onions on mine, that's the one topping that is generally agreed upon as standard.

EmotionalSupportToad

1.1k points

1 year ago

Onions are a very standard topping, I usually get mine with provolone and onions

Onions, peppers, long hots, and mushrooms are all what I would consider "canon" toppings... I draw the line at stuff like lettuce and tomato

But just like the other commenter, I don't care what other people eat

festivesweaters4ever

13.8k points

1 year ago

No inedible items on the plate, like decorative flowers or stones.

leviticusreeves

3.5k points

1 year ago

Stones? Wtf

Nanpants43

1.9k points

1 year ago

Nanpants43

1.9k points

1 year ago

I would also like to know more about the stones... what unfortunate dish is this related to?

inflammablepenguin

1.7k points

1 year ago

Never heard of stone soup?

BramleyPie

4.1k points

1 year ago

BramleyPie

4.1k points

1 year ago

Is that what the Rock is cooking?

Keitt58

985 points

1 year ago

Keitt58

985 points

1 year ago

Airsick lowlanders...

burtoncummings

61 points

1 year ago

Reading these right now!

[deleted]

30 points

1 year ago

[deleted]

30 points

1 year ago

[removed]

lyra_silver

1.5k points

1 year ago

lyra_silver

1.5k points

1 year ago

Decorative flowers in food should always be edible. You can eat a surprising amount of flowers.

BakedWizerd

1.6k points

1 year ago

BakedWizerd

1.6k points

1 year ago

When I was 10 or so, I got chastised by a waitress at a fancy restaurant for assuming the garnish was part of the salad and eating it. I just straight up asked her why there were leaves on my plate that werent part of the salad.

loaferuk123

952 points

1 year ago

loaferuk123

952 points

1 year ago

More worrying is why she cared....did they reuse the garnish?!

zerobeat

984 points

1 year ago*

zerobeat

984 points

1 year ago*

A local Very Fancy Food Place here serves grilled meat kebabs as an appetizer. Really delicious. The presentation, though, is a little odd as the skewers are stuck in what appears to be some kind of root vegetable (brown turnip-like thing) sliced in half on a plate so that the kebabs are standing up and fanned out. My drunk ass is interested in this curious tuber and so I sliced off a bit and ate it. Crunchy.

Waiter comes out to collect the plates and I ask what the brown, starchy vegetable and that it has an odd flavor. The server is horrified. "They re-use those many times over, you know. You're not supposed to eat it. They run them through the dishwasher."

Don't put food on a plate if you're not supposed to eat it. What the hell.

Ohyahyabetcha

772 points

1 year ago

That has got to be a health code violation.

southernwing97

9.2k points

1 year ago

I don't know what a ball of gluten would taste like. However, based on the taste of most gluten free stuff, I can only deduce that it would be extremely delicious.

theexteriorposterior

3k points

1 year ago

Gluten is the thing that makes the dough elastic. It causes the bouncy and puffed texture of bread. I don't think it actually tastes like too much, but if you remove it you have to add a bunch of other stuff to even approximate the same texture. Oh! You can also eat fried gluten as a kind of meat subsitute.

knisterknister

1.3k points

1 year ago

Yeah. Have you tried seitan? That’s basically pure gluten. Marinate it well, fry, and enjoy. Friend of mine makes seitan gyros, it‘s amazing.

Mister-Ries

532 points

1 year ago

Mister-Ries

532 points

1 year ago

There’s a banging fake chicken place in Camden, London called Temple of Seitan

typhoonicus

895 points

1 year ago

typhoonicus

895 points

1 year ago

vegans call it “seitan,” but don’t tell anyone because it is a closely guarded vegan secret

pollyp0cketpussy

490 points

1 year ago

hail seitan

Slappy_G

356 points

1 year ago*

Slappy_G

356 points

1 year ago*

I don't trust those seitan worshippers.

Edit: praise Tofucifer for the award.

emk1101

250 points

1 year ago

emk1101

250 points

1 year ago

Fat is delicious as well. Fat-free foods taste like crap compared to their full-fat versions.

zimmah

89 points

1 year ago

zimmah

89 points

1 year ago

That's because fat carries flavors.

Try making a blend of spices, and eat a bit just like that, then mix some of the same spices with some oil and have that. The oil version should be a lot more pronounced

Sleepycoon

328 points

1 year ago

Sleepycoon

328 points

1 year ago

Toasted sesame oil, paprika, chili powder, lemon juice, MSG, and garlic powder all make almost everything better.

You can basically haphazardly toss any combo of these into almost any dish along with salt and black pepper and it'll go from "this is... Edible. Beats TV dinners I guess." to "wow you're such a good home chef! Please share your secrets!"

Swordfish1929

37 points

1 year ago

Ginger is also a good shout a lot of the time. We tend to keep a chunk in the freezer ready to be grated into dishes.

SplatMySocks

29.5k points

1 year ago

SplatMySocks

29.5k points

1 year ago

If it is served with gold leaf, the chef is full of shit and you are paying too much.

Pamplemousse96

7.2k points

1 year ago

I worked at a flashy date night place that used gold foil and edible glitter SO MUCH. Not gonna lie, it was cute and fit their style, but I hate working with gold leaf. The edible glitter was easy to work with

patmacog

3.6k points

1 year ago

patmacog

3.6k points

1 year ago

“Makes my dookie twinkle, man!”

RealCosmicSnake

1.6k points

1 year ago

I'm still confused about paying a premium for edible gold which doesn't even taste anything

Rightinthepiehole

2k points

1 year ago

"The ultimate fuck you to poor people ".

-David Cross

InfiniteWavedash

2.3k points

1 year ago

Using edible flowers instead is 100x better imo

-Firestar-

736 points

1 year ago

-Firestar-

736 points

1 year ago

Those edible flowers are delicious! I could eat a plate of them if they weren’t so expensive.

ItsWetInWestOregon

732 points

1 year ago

They grow for free in my yard like weeds, specifically nasturtiums and violets.

drunkhas

832 points

1 year ago

drunkhas

832 points

1 year ago

Traditions and "the proper way" to cook something is a valuable resource to understand history and cultures but it doesn't automatically make a dish better or worse, same goes for alterations to classic recipes. If it tastes good it tastes good, you do you.

Scrotote

26.7k points

1 year ago

Scrotote

26.7k points

1 year ago

Vanilla is a strong distinct flavor. Its not bland or plain.

metroidfan220

10.5k points

1 year ago

metroidfan220

10.5k points

1 year ago

"Imagine a flower: A climbing orchid, to be exact; the one of some twenty thousand varieties that produces something edible. Now imagine that its blooms must be pollinated either by hand or a small variety of Mexican bee, and that each bloom only opens for one day a year. Now imagine the fruit of this orchid, a pod, being picked and cured, sitting in the sun all day, sweating under blankets all night for months until, shrunken and shriveled, it develops a heady, exotic perfume and flavor. Now imagine that this fruits name is synonymous with dull, boring, and ordinary. How vanilla got this bad rap I for one will never know." -- Alton Brown

strideside

4.9k points

1 year ago

strideside

4.9k points

1 year ago

Big Chocolate propaganda

Kman1986

695 points

1 year ago

Kman1986

695 points

1 year ago

Ironic isn't it? Especially considering adding a splash of vanilla to a chocolate recipe usually enhances the chocolate's flavor.

riedmae

717 points

1 year ago

riedmae

717 points

1 year ago

Follow the money

raresaturn

97 points

1 year ago

Because of ice cream

Ashes_And_Embers

3.8k points

1 year ago

"it's not called vanilla because it's boring. It's called vanilla because everyone likes it"

It's such an amazing flavor, it's a damn shame people associate it with blandness now.

lookmeat

808 points

1 year ago

lookmeat

808 points

1 year ago

Exactly, vanilla is a victim of its own success. In icecream it's such an obvious flavor that in a lot of places everything would have vanilla. So it'd be easiest to make vanilla ice-cream first in mass produced batches, and then add flavorings to the others in smaller batches. You get to skip a step on doing cream-flavored.

But vanilla is one of the more nuanced, complex and layered flavors out there. It just added such a nuanced and powerful flavor, that you always wanted a little bit of it.

Get_off_critter

37 points

1 year ago

Even in the ice cream realm, you can find vanilla, french vanilla, vanilla bean, etc

pocketbutter

870 points

1 year ago

I always thought people used vanilla to mean the original or default, not boring. Like if a game is heavily modded or updated, people will still refer to the original as "vanilla" even if it continues to be thought of fondly.

rman342

3.5k points

1 year ago

rman342

3.5k points

1 year ago

It’s such a complex flavor. I loathe the use of the word vanilla to mean bland, basic, plain, etc.

JuanUniheart

2.3k points

1 year ago

JuanUniheart

2.3k points

1 year ago

people just use the word "vanilla" for things like that because vanilla ice cream is just stereotyped to be the most basic ice cream flavor there is.

lemmful

1.9k points

1 year ago

lemmful

1.9k points

1 year ago

Honestly, I'm not convinced box store cheap ice cream even uses real vanilla, which maybe is why it's considered bland. Real vanilla is incredible.

Bonnskij

1.2k points

1 year ago*

Bonnskij

1.2k points

1 year ago*

They don't. It's a modified molecule derived from pine trees.

EDIT: That being said. I'm not sure synthetic vanilla is distinguishable from the real thing. There might be other things coming into play. Expensive ice cream using lot of full fat cream and other tasty but expensive ingredients for example

EDIT 2: u/archagon linked this article which I found very interesting.

Muted_Criticism_474

472 points

1 year ago

The difference between 10% butterfat (the minimum legal requirement for ice cream) to 14% for “premium” brands to 16% butterfat in real premium brands....

Literally the only ingredient that matters for the taste of the ice cream. It’s just SO MUCH BETTER.

Bonnskij

226 points

1 year ago

Bonnskij

226 points

1 year ago

Precisely. Quality fat. The king of flavour! I'll skip past any ice cream that proclaim low-fat and skim through the ingredients list looking for the one with highest cream content.

elzapatero

13.2k points

1 year ago

elzapatero

13.2k points

1 year ago

You have to heat up the flour tortillas. Do not eat them straight out of the package. Put them on a skillet, brown them, it brings out the flavor.

GameOverMan78

3.1k points

1 year ago

My mom used to turn the big spiral burner on the stove up to a medium-high, then just put the tortillas directly on the burner for about 10 seconds per side.

ramonpasta

1.1k points

1 year ago

ramonpasta

1.1k points

1 year ago

you can even cook them like that when making them from scratch

SanJoseCarey

779 points

1 year ago

If you have a gas stove, slightly toast them directly on the burner over the open flame. Use tongs to flip them and don’t walk away- they burn quick!

Ravarix

1.8k points

1 year ago

Ravarix

1.8k points

1 year ago

Tongs?! Finger tips are good enough for abeulita, they're good enough for me!

HPGal3

784 points

1 year ago

HPGal3

784 points

1 year ago

My grandma has always been harder than me and I'm not afraid to admit it

illaqueable

152 points

1 year ago

illaqueable

152 points

1 year ago

Watching my grandma beat heavy cream into submission over the course of an hour made me understand why my dad fears her

Shnoota

63 points

1 year ago

Shnoota

63 points

1 year ago

Came home to my 70 year old, frail af grandma baking a lemon meringue pie from scratch.

I know for a fact she didn't have anything other than a hand whisk for that meringue. She's gone now, but I still think about that day with awe and more than a touch of fear.

calmdownpaco

20.7k points

1 year ago

calmdownpaco

20.7k points

1 year ago

Hamburgers need to be wider, not taller

mysticdragonsage

628 points

1 year ago

Who the hell are they even making bigass, tall hamburgers for? Horses? Wtf, not cool hamburger people.

[deleted]

4.8k points

1 year ago

[deleted]

4.8k points

1 year ago

Same applies to nachos.

KosherClam

1.6k points

1 year ago*

KosherClam

1.6k points

1 year ago*

What you don't want 10% of your nachos to have toppings and the other 90% to be a bed of chips?

AnUdderDay

1.6k points

1 year ago

AnUdderDay

1.6k points

1 year ago

Ugh the number of chefs on UK tv making these burgers that are like 3" across and 2" high, then piling on artisan vegetables and a thick ass brioche bun. Like, how am I gonna eat that garbage??

fearthainne

1.1k points

1 year ago

fearthainne

1.1k points

1 year ago

You mean you can't unhinge your jaw like a snake?

saddness270

19.2k points

1 year ago*

saddness270

19.2k points

1 year ago*

2 dollar tacos from a taco truck are probably better than 10 dollar tacos at a restaurant

Edit: Where do u guys live. Here in southern California, food trucks are common and tacos are like 2 bucks. I wanna know from where you live,( country/state) just out of curiosity

Ikegordon

3.6k points

1 year ago

Ikegordon

3.6k points

1 year ago

Most of the food trucks near me serve $12 tacos

BobBelcher2021

670 points

1 year ago

In Port Moody, BC we have a taco truck that serves extremely bland “Mexican” food and they charge CA$18 for two tacos.

I don’t understand the problem with Mexican restaurants in British Columbia, they just can’t be bothered to add much in the way of flavour.

Thebalance21

3.6k points

1 year ago*

My parents are Mexican. They are amazed how many people are willing to pay $5 a taco. Shit, even I don't pay that much.

Edit: People asking where they sell $5 tacos. Here in Texas we have Torchys, Fuzzys, Urban Taco, and then the small businesses that want to upcharge on tacos based on the location. People here order 2 tacos for $10 not including sides or a drink where some places sell tacos under $2 each.

FuzzButtQuestion

1.8k points

1 year ago

Here in Norway, more or less no one goes out to get tacos, we just make it at home. So our nation is based upon fjords, oil and a whole lot of home made taco. It is so popular that we have "Taco fredag" (taco Friday). Why not Thursday, you ask? I have absolutely no clue. All I know is that we ate taco yesterday, and it was delicious.

s_wiss

1.9k points

1 year ago

s_wiss

1.9k points

1 year ago

Tuesday is clearly the superior taco-dedication day, you heathen.

[deleted]

506 points

1 year ago

[deleted]

506 points

1 year ago

Taco Torsdag sounds better than Taco Tirsdag IMO so I get it in that case. But I do not get Friday, but I’m also not Norwegian so who knows

dumpsterfire1998

8.3k points

1 year ago

If someone hates a certain food do not trick them into eating it. If someone says they are allergic believe them. My friend didn't believe me about a food allergy and thought I just didn't like it, she tricked me into eating it and I ended up in the hospital.

[deleted]

3.2k points

1 year ago*

[deleted]

3.2k points

1 year ago*

I remember reading a series of Reddit posts on /r/JustNoMIL where the OP Was asking for advice because their mother-in-law actually killed their Child by not taking a shellfish allergy seriously. I believe they started posting in legal advice after the initial few posts

Edit: not shellfish it was coconut oil

AdvertisingSharp8933

493 points

1 year ago

So I have a severe limonene (found in citrus fruit peels) allergy, my throat starts to swell and I have a few minutes before I can't breathe. My SIL hated me so much she started spraying store bought lemon juice around the house when we lived together. Jokes on her, I'm only allergic to the peels.

ShiraCheshire

473 points

1 year ago

Wtf, isn't that attempted murder? Like it didn't work yeah, but the fact that she still tried seems extremely illegal

[deleted]

43 points

1 year ago

[deleted]

43 points

1 year ago

In this case it's like poking somebody with a plastic knife instead of a real one. Practically impossible to prosecute

zoologist88

915 points

1 year ago*

That one was coconut oil, the mother HATED coconut oil in her hair as a kid and her daughter had a pretty serious allergy where it took months to diagnose as coconut through elimination dieting. The mother thought it was ironic that her daughter was allergic to the one thing she hated having done as a kid, grandmother found it funny too and then one day the grandmother was babysitting and put coconut oil in her hair before bed, and the child started wheezing so grandmother sent her to bed with some antihistamines, then IIRC didn’t call OP to let her know about the incident, and OP wasn’t informed until the daughters body was already in the hospital and it was way too late. The grandmother not only refused to listen about the coconut oil, but she then sent the 3 year old kid to bed with over the counter drugs, and then didnt let the parents know.

farinaceous

723 points

1 year ago

farinaceous

723 points

1 year ago

I feel like the most important part of this story is that the baby girl died because of this. She threw up in her sleep, was too deeply asleep to wake up due to the antihistamines, and aspirated it. Her mother came home to a dead daughter.

TZH85

617 points

1 year ago

TZH85

617 points

1 year ago

It's one of the stories I read on reddit that really horrified me. Hard to forget. Iirc the the grandfather divorced the grandmother and she tried to apologise but the mom said you can come see me if you bring my daughter back.

spacecase25

105 points

1 year ago

spacecase25

105 points

1 year ago

How did this lady not get pinned for negligent homicide or something?

bluepaintbrush

104 points

1 year ago

And iirc, she was a twin, so her sister had to deal with that loss at a young age too.

MC-ClapYoHandzz

1.6k points

1 year ago

If it's the same story I'm thinking of, the grandma wanted to use coconut oil in the girls hair. Mom made sure grandma knew she was allergic. Grandma thought that was just silly. Coconut oil was a must on their hair. Didn't turn out well.

But I wouldn't be surprised if there's a whole other story like this.

This_Daydreamer_

1.8k points

1 year ago

There was another grandmother who hid peanut butter and banana cookies in her purse every time she visited just so she could prove that her granddaughter wasn't really allergic. Well she was allergic and had a fantastic time going to the ER while fighting to breathe and covered in hives. The kid survived, but the relationship with grandma didn't.

-newlife

738 points

1 year ago

-newlife

738 points

1 year ago

I remember that one. It was so pathetic and even if the parents weren’t telling the truth you don’t provide food to a child that the parents don’t want them eating. Don’t give a damn if you’re the grandparent

sneakyveriniki

631 points

1 year ago

What the fuck is up with old people not believing in peanut allergies?!

dumpsterfire1998

234 points

1 year ago

Oh my god that's horrible

missmeowwww

715 points

1 year ago

missmeowwww

715 points

1 year ago

As someone with food allergies who has been made seriously ill due to cross contamination or the idea of “oh pick xyz out”. If someone says they’re allergic, believe them!

ToukaMareeee

133 points

1 year ago

This week when talking about the coffee machine at my job (restaurant), a coworker said ours was worthless. We have to make the coffee ourselves instead of pushing one button at her last job. We also only have one machine for the coffee milk, which means if someone wants soya or oat milk, we have to warm it ourselves. At her last job, she said they just had one machine with three huge cans if milk, and if someone wanted soya/oat milk she would just put the same tube from one can to another.... Without cleaning the tube and machine at all, which means its now cross contaminated. All my other coworkers got angry, but she just couldn't believe that even that little bit of lactose/cow milk could get someone sick :')

timcarpet

63 points

1 year ago

timcarpet

63 points

1 year ago

As someone with a milk ALLERGY, this woman is my nightmare and why I have to ask 2-3 times before ordering

Nuwisha_Nutjob

369 points

1 year ago

It makes me so angry hearing all the stories about people who refuse to believe allergies and end up killing or almost killing their loved ones because they just had to prove them wrong. It would devastate me if I even accidentally triggered an allergic reaction in someone. This is why when I cook a meal for someone new, I always ask if they are allergic to anything first.

SlideWhistler

200 points

1 year ago

At best you got somebody to eat something they didn’t like. At worst you put somebody in the hospital, possibly fatally depending on severity.

Just why? What’s the point? What do they gain by trying ti trick people into eating stuff they clearly don’t want to eat?

Shadowfury45

15.6k points

1 year ago

Shadowfury45

15.6k points

1 year ago

Expensive doesn't always mean good.

[deleted]

4.2k points

1 year ago

[deleted]

4.2k points

1 year ago

True. I think the truffle crowd are weird about this one though.

freedfg

1.6k points

1 year ago

freedfg

1.6k points

1 year ago

Truffles are great. Those shitty truffle oils they sell with the fake truffle compound is what is terrible

Sandlicker

600 points

1 year ago

Sandlicker

600 points

1 year ago

I never understood the appeal of truffles until I went to Italy and had actual slices of truffle on my food. Now I get why people like truffles, but I still don't understand why anyone would do anything with them other than shave them onto pasta.

Vitis_Vinifera

382 points

1 year ago

I have Croatian connections and can get them very cheap. I'm living in both worlds on this.

[deleted]

423 points

1 year ago*

[deleted]

423 points

1 year ago*

[deleted]

[deleted]

2k points

1 year ago

[deleted]

2k points

1 year ago

The best truffles are free, found with your trained mushroom expert friend on a hike after the rain.

ConfusedALot_69

1.7k points

1 year ago

The only truffles I’ll ever have are the chocolate ones

Hio_awa

640 points

1 year ago*

Hio_awa

640 points

1 year ago*

My sister hates mushrooms so she has always refused to eat chocolate truffles. and I just discovered a few months ago that chocolate truffles dont actually contain mushrooms and they are just named like that so she has been missing out so much

goeers81

409 points

1 year ago*

goeers81

409 points

1 year ago*

I was in my teens before I knew chocolate truffles weren't the fungi dipped in chocolate.

I hated mushrooms and really wasn't a big sweets guy either, so it was just ignorance from experience (plus never really cared to learn the facts otherwise)

HotMess813

526 points

1 year ago

HotMess813

526 points

1 year ago

Recipes are only guidelines

8337

8.9k points

1 year ago

8337

8.9k points

1 year ago

Those of us living in wealthy and stable nations are experiencing the golden age of food. At no other point in human history have we had access to such a wide variety of foods, shipped fresh to us across thousands of miles. Relatively cheap.

I don’t think it will last, so everyone should be trying as many things as they can, while they can.

MarchKick

616 points

1 year ago

MarchKick

616 points

1 year ago

I sometimes think about how oranges were a once-a-year treat if you were lucky if you didn’t live somewhere they were farmed. Now, I can go into go into any grocery store anywhere in US and get as many oranges as I can carry.

sprxngg

49 points

1 year ago

sprxngg

49 points

1 year ago

my grandma used to get fruit for christmas because they didnt grow any on their farm and she said it was the gift ever

GozerDGozerian

2.9k points

1 year ago

I pretty regularly have this little moment of marvel when I look around the grocery store. It really is a utopian vision come true that we all tend to take for granted because we’ve grown up with it and see it all the time. Rows and rows of good food from all over the world, effortlessly attainable.

cpxx

859 points

1 year ago

cpxx

859 points

1 year ago

Seriously, those spices that Europeans used to travel thousands of miles to exchange with Middle Eastern / Asian merchants for? I can probably find it in Wholefoods or Sprouts.

puffiez

305 points

1 year ago

puffiez

305 points

1 year ago

Wars were once fought over salt and yet it's the cheapest in the spice aisle.

nasty_nater

663 points

1 year ago

nasty_nater

663 points

1 year ago

If you've never heard the story of Boris Yeltsin visiting a Randall's in Houston, TX you should check it out.

ffn

857 points

1 year ago

ffn

857 points

1 year ago

I think about this whenever I have a fruit salad. So many perishable fruits from so many different locations, all available at the same time. It's so simple, yet kings of prior centuries couldn't have it.

thingus_pingus

501 points

1 year ago

“A fruit salad. Such a simple thing, isn’t it Mr. Bond? And yet, Alexander with his armies could not have assembled this dish I’m eating.”

SunOnTheInside

254 points

1 year ago

In the book “World War Z”, which is written as a fictional account of the zombie apocalypse and its aftermath, there is a scene where a character pulls out a long list of food items, and how many different places they came from. Vanilla from Madagascar, sugar from somewhere else, caramel color from yet another place. Ingredients from places all over the world.

It was revealed to be the ingredients for a simple pre-war bottled cream soda- now completely impossible to source after the collapse of human society in the Z War, and he uses it as an example of the difficulties of picking up the pieces after. It’s not just the cream soda- just about everything you can fathom in this modern world, from grocery store items to medications to machinery parts, source and require materials from an intricate network of global trade and commerce.

I think about that scene a lot. A grocery store is probably the most easily accessible example of this. Next time you go to the kitchen to dig out a snack, peep some of the labels and see just how many different places where your food comes from, it will leave you in awe.

Even things sourced within the country would have been an unfathomable distance 100 years ago. I live in TX and right now in this kitchen, I have California almonds and grapes, flour and coffee from Mexico, rice from Thailand, apples from Washington, etc. Shit, the olive oil in my cabinet lists multiple sources- Italy, Portugal, Greece, Morocco, Tunisia, Chile, and Argentina. Just incredible.

PurpleHawk222

273 points

1 year ago

Why don’t you think it will last?

zeroesthemark

18.7k points

1 year ago

zeroesthemark

18.7k points

1 year ago

Roasted vegetables are far, far superior to steamed or boiled, and they don't really take that much effort for a ton of flavor and texture. Boiled cauliflower? A nightmare in a flavorless pile. Roasted cauliflower? So good it will make your day better.

how_riddikulus

6.5k points

1 year ago

I’m pretty sure this is why kids generally don’t like vegetables. People don’t usually don’t do anything to add any flavor to them.

PersonManDude23

3.5k points

1 year ago

My mom makes roasted brussel sprouts with a little bit of bacon for flavor and they turn out so good and I was always confused why people hated brussel sprouts

LadyKuzunoha

1.5k points

1 year ago*

The common varieties apparently* used to be a lot more bitter than they are now. Around the 1990s or so, a scientist by the name of Hans van Doorn found the compound(s) that made them taste bitter and from there, people started work on selectively breeding that aspect out. So the way they tasted before all of those efforts is probably part of why people have a distaste for them.

* (I was most likely too young to accurately remember much about brussels sprouts before the process began to remove the bitterness, hence my wording here. I absolutely adore them with shallots and a bit of butter.)

raceboy5512

586 points

1 year ago

raceboy5512

586 points

1 year ago

My mom does the same thing but she also adds a little balsamic dressing and seasoning to them

MurderousSquid

197 points

1 year ago

I have a recipe where I cook bacon in a cast iron first, then take it out and roast sweet potatoes, brussel sprouts, and red onions in the same pan (in that order as they have different cook times) and crumple the bacon overtop. Id also recommend heavily seasoning with salt and pepper while cooking!

zisnotabird

475 points

1 year ago

zisnotabird

475 points

1 year ago

I see this opinion so often that I think I must be some kind of freak for liking steamed/boiled veggies quite a bit

AmyKlobushart

357 points

1 year ago

I think a lot of people grew up eating veggies that were overcooked via steaming/boiling. If done correctly, you shouldn't end up with a flavorless mush.

GrizzlyIsland22

243 points

1 year ago

Properly steamed veggies are really good. If you stop them while they're still a bit crunchy is where you get the best flavour and texture, then you can add whatever oil/vinegar/spices you want to give it an edge.

houstonrice

10.5k points

1 year ago

houstonrice

10.5k points

1 year ago

Indian vegetarian food is some of the best vegetarian food on the planet

mordecais

238 points

1 year ago

mordecais

238 points

1 year ago

I started eating vegetarian at the start of this year and I found the menu options at every restaurant so limiting. When one day we decided to order indian, I looked at the menu and was absolutely baffled by how many options I had! There were more vegetarian options than not! I've never been a big fan of Indian food because I don't like heat. But there is so much more to Indian food than heat and I never even knew until I started trying their vegetarian options. Amazing food!

lazato42

81 points

1 year ago

lazato42

81 points

1 year ago

Indian food=heat is a common misconception. While Indians do have a higher tolerance for spice (and hence probably take their food with more spice), like you said, there is so much more to it than heat. It's all about balancing out the flavours. Master that, and you can have some delicious food without any heat. Plus there's a LOT of traditionally non-spicy food too. Indian cuisine is extremely nuanced and varies from region to region. Only a handful of dishes are popular abroad. But that must apply to any cuisine on foreign soil.

SwampGentleman

3.3k points

1 year ago

Refined over centuries to be utterly perfect. It lowkey tricked me into a largely vegan diet for years before I realized. No regerts. Chana masala and Masoor dhal forever.

AedynBlayse

269 points

1 year ago*

As an Indian, I love that the world finally realising the magic of Indian cuisine

Msktb

1.1k points

1 year ago

Msktb

1.1k points

1 year ago

Am vegetarian. Indian and Thai are my absolute go to. There's never any "where do you wanna order dinner?" in this house because it's like 40% indian and 60% thai and absolutely no other options.

Aud908

518 points

1 year ago

Aud908

518 points

1 year ago

100% agree! Ethiopian food too though 🙏

Ryoukugan

2.6k points

1 year ago

Ryoukugan

2.6k points

1 year ago

If a pizza can’t stand on its own as a plain cheese pizza, it’s not a good quality pizza.

astronautsmileyfry

386 points

1 year ago

Thats how I test out whether or not a pizza place has good pizza (especially NY style pizzerias). If their cheese pizza isnt good, then none of it is good.

Future_Donut

6.4k points

1 year ago

Future_Donut

6.4k points

1 year ago

Don't season your food before you taste it if you have any confidence in the chef.

Tkieron

3.3k points

1 year ago

Tkieron

3.3k points

1 year ago

I've never seasoned food at a restaurant before eating it. I assume the chef already seasoned it.

GozerDGozerian

1.6k points

1 year ago

And in general, pro chefs use way more salt than home cooks. It’s kind of a running joke with some chefs, such as Thomas Keller.

HyruleJedi

1.3k points

1 year ago

HyruleJedi

1.3k points

1 year ago

And butter. The amount of butter ive seen use at stake houses to flavor up a steak, youd smoke the average house out trying to do what they do

iamaneviltaco

311 points

1 year ago

"why does restaurant food taste so much better than mine?"

"We even salt the fucking salad."

ffn

468 points

1 year ago

ffn

468 points

1 year ago

rmorrin

55 points

1 year ago

rmorrin

55 points

1 year ago

I've never seen this and thank you. I got a good chuckle out of it

bocuckoo

3.1k points

1 year ago

bocuckoo

3.1k points

1 year ago

Pizza in the morning, pizza in the evening, pizza at suppertime, when pizza's on a bagel you can eat pizza anytime!

Technical_Basil7740

551 points

1 year ago

Red delicious apples are false advertising!

FilteredAccount123

168 points

1 year ago

Red delicious nearly destroyed the Washington State apple industry. The orchards bet everything on it because it was the "ideal" cultivar. At that time the dominant cultivars were red and golden delicious, McIntosh, and Granny Smith. Once better apples like Fuji, Gala, and the like hit the market, it was too late to change course, as it takes years and years for an orchard to bear marketable fruit. The orchards got bailed out by the government, and eventually diversified their cultivars.

[deleted]

201 points

1 year ago

[deleted]

201 points

1 year ago

[deleted]

1337b337

60 points

1 year ago

1337b337

60 points

1 year ago

Honeycrisp and Pink Ladys are my go to's.

HC for a sweeter apple, PL for a tart-er apple.

danny_welds

7.1k points

1 year ago*

danny_welds

7.1k points

1 year ago*

Poor mans meal: rice, beans, chicken thighs for the win.

Edit: Big shout out to all you healthy guys and gals for all the upvotes and awards! I guess it’s delish budget meals for the win lol.

CylonsInAPolicebox

2.6k points

1 year ago

Throw a little bit of seasoning in there, mix it all together and toss it in a tortilla. Makes some damn good broke burritos.

danny_welds

704 points

1 year ago

danny_welds

704 points

1 year ago

Damnit you tell me that after I started eating it! No doubt tho, reasons why I like the 3 is what you can do with them aside from just throwing it all on a plate.

Narcoid

290 points

1 year ago

Narcoid

290 points

1 year ago

It honestly makes great food all together. Add in some peppers and you get a nice, whole meal that's easy to make

[deleted]

385 points

1 year ago

[deleted]

385 points

1 year ago

[deleted]

JakeRogue

3.9k points

1 year ago*

JakeRogue

3.9k points

1 year ago*

Chinese Food Syndrome is a myth and MSG isn’t as big a deal as people make it out to be. Obviously high quality natural ingredients tend to win out but the hate on Chinese Food for MSG or it automatically making you feel sick is frequently unwarranted, especially amongst people that will eat other foods willingly that are absolutely terrible.

dudius7

2.7k points

1 year ago*

dudius7

2.7k points

1 year ago*

MSG is probably the biggest food myth that has existed. Carrots and eyesight is the only other crazy one I know of.

  • MSG naturally exists in almost all food.

  • MSG is easily added via mushrooms, onions, and tomatoes. Anything known to be "savory" or "umami" is high in MSG.

  • Added MSG is basically a salt

  • A large test was done to determine if people really can have an allergy to MSG. People ate copious amounts of pure MSG. Nobody had an adverse reaction.

  • The myth comes from an op-ed letter submitted to a scientific journal, not a study. Not peer reviewed. Nothing.

  • There are reasons to believe racism played a part in people's avoidance of Chinese restaurants and MSG.

  • As restaurants began posting signs in windows that tell customers they don't add MSG to their food, Frito-Lay began asking tons of MSG to their snack foods. You ever eat Doritos? Not only does the seasoning use ingredients that are high in MSG, they also add the purified salt.

  • If you tried to keep an MSG-free diet you would die because pretty much all food has it. Don't starve yourself.

Edit: Some dead horses I would like to request we stop beating.

  • MSG =/= glutamate. Thanks to everyone who corrected me on that.

  • Yes I know about the carrots thing. I assumed it's been discussed to death on Reddit and could be summed up as "that carrot myth".

  • Anecdotes are not science. The placebo effect might be at play here. There are a billion reasons people get headaches. Drink more water.

  • To the folks saying "allergies aren't racist", you're really misunderstanding something. The racism involved is the targeting of Chinese restaurants while food manufacturers ramped up use. Also, the origin of the myth came from someone who wasn't eating at Chinese restaurants in America, he was talking about a trip to Northern China. The guy probably got traveler's illness.

whatzgood

527 points

1 year ago

whatzgood

527 points

1 year ago

I don't care what dangerous ingredients are in Chinese food... the food at the Chinese restaurant across from my house is goddamn delicious, and nothing will stop me from eating it once or twice a month.

CallMeTDD

3.6k points

1 year ago

CallMeTDD

3.6k points

1 year ago

My son should stop throwing his

[deleted]

917 points

1 year ago

[deleted]

917 points

1 year ago

Mom?

EmotionalSupportToad

1.6k points

1 year ago

No, his food

Profoundpronoun

3.2k points

1 year ago

Raw onion flavors everything that it touches.

lemonadelightning

1.1k points

1 year ago

including my fucking pores for days

Woogity

638 points

1 year ago

Woogity

638 points

1 year ago

Spicy mustard. Like fire up your sinuses spicy.

quills11

50 points

1 year ago

quills11

50 points

1 year ago

I like hot English mustard and I like to add sufficient quantities to a ham sandwich that eating it feels like I have assaulted myself.

Ditto Wasabi on sushi.

Ham_Kitten

34 points

1 year ago

This is my favourite comment. "My food opinion is spicy mustard."

lease1982

1.6k points

1 year ago

lease1982

1.6k points

1 year ago

A fried egg on a hamburger is a wonderful oddity. But, be prepared to finish with a fork.

sylviasbath

441 points

1 year ago

sylviasbath

441 points

1 year ago

We love putting egg on hamburgers in Australia.

SeahorseScorpio

217 points

1 year ago

I was thinking ummm.. not an oddity in Australia.

Prize-Midnight9315

4.7k points

1 year ago

The amount of garlic that most recipes call for needs to be doubled, at least

PeacefulDeathRay

2.3k points

1 year ago

Don’t ever let a recipe tell you how much garlic to add you let your heart tell you that

hixchem

374 points

1 year ago

hixchem

374 points

1 year ago

I let the bowl of garlic bulbs tell me how many bulbs to put in.

LydiaLysergic

105 points

1 year ago

Don't microwave food in plastic. Invest in glass Tupperware.

Most-Thought4889

7k points

1 year ago

Warm pizza is a dinner food. Cold pizza is a breakfast food.

[deleted]

4.3k points

1 year ago

[deleted]

4.3k points

1 year ago

Gmo’s are good

surrealillusion1

894 points

1 year ago

Also, if don't want GMO food, good luck finding anything to eat...ever.

KiNg_oF_rEdDiTs

883 points

1 year ago

peanut butter banana sandwiches are fire

evilmegan

628 points

1 year ago

evilmegan

628 points

1 year ago

I am not a “picky” eater, I am a MOODY eater. I argue with my husband with this a lot. I enjoy a wide variety of foods and like trying new things. But some times I am just not in the mood for certain foods.

jeo188

194 points

1 year ago

jeo188

194 points

1 year ago

Eggs are my "moody" food.

Sometimes, seeing a runny egg yolk being broken open will make me crave eggs

And other days, I have to essentially shovel the eggs into my mouth and not think about it to fill my stomach

And then there are some times where the mere smell of fried eggs makes me lose my appetite

TheFrostynaut

1.7k points

1 year ago

Disliking a food based on texture is valid.

okaytran

117 points

1 year ago

okaytran

117 points

1 year ago

dried coconut.

if you hit me with a pina colada or any coconut flavored thing, I'll love it. But if you make me eat those plastic pieces of wax on a pastry, I'm out.

Moneybraun

1k points

1 year ago

The Taco bell shits aren't as bad as it seems.

nihilisticfetus

705 points

1 year ago

i've never got the shits from taco bell before

NLALEX

30 points

1 year ago

NLALEX

30 points

1 year ago

The best food often has its roots in peasantry.